On A Whim

On a whim,
you can turn life around,
from riches to rags,
from fame to silence,
become a man,
invisible to society,
yet always there to see,
see in front of me.

For when, upon the streets
you are turned,
you are lowly,
invisibility is yours,
walking the streets,
your own,
your home,
your life.

A Ghost, An Echo

When you’ve been,
where I have been,
in the abyss of darkness,
drowning in your own sorow,
betrayed at every moment,
your confidence stripped
to the mere shell of yourself,
a Ghost,
an Echo.

And then, you realise that
a Girl, her, she sees you,
in a light, no-one has seen
and you wonder… Why?
Why does she see me,
what I am, what I can be,
How can I possibly return
from the depths of hell,
perhaps… to her?

So now I have a longing,
to satiate my curious desire,
to be that special girl,
the one who looks upon me,
be her for just one day,
just the world,
as she does see,
to see me as she does see,
a Ghost.

When You Awake

When you awake,
to the early morning sun,
eyes aching from the night,
stirring slowly in the light.

When you awake,
to the vibrations of a phone,
to see a text, a friend,
what emotion’s will this rend?

When you awake,
to a joyful conversation,
you can’t do nothing but smile,
when you realise what you’ve had all the while.